Sunday, November 24, 2013

Why? My thoughts on health insurance

Why?  Why is there this huge law known as the “Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act”?  For those that don’t know, this is also referred to as “Obamacare”.  What was the purpose of this law?  If it was to provide insurance for people who do not have it, well, it’s not working.  Actually it is doing the opposite.  Also, where is the “affordable” part?  Many people are talking about premiums that have drastically increased.  We are not talking about a couple of dollars, we are talking about 78% increases. Others are seeing a 90% increase.  

But nothing I have heard has told me “why” we need such a law.  We keep hearing about rising healthcare costs and how people can’t afford it…… what?  Rising healthcare costs?  This leads me to exactly what I have been saying for the last 5 years:  Why does health care cost so much?  Rather than trying to find a way to have everyone pay the high cost of healthcare, why not look at WHY it is so expensive to begin with?!?!?  

Let me provide an example.  I have an explanation of benefits from my insurance company in which they list some claims for routine blood work.  The total amount billed by the provider (the lab) was $371.21.  Guess how much of that bill I owe? All of it?  Half of it?  No, I am responsible for $17.67.  That is $17.67!!!  How is this possible?  Well, this is because the provider “has agreed to the plan discount” of $353.54!!!!!  So, because I have insurance, I only need to pay $17.67.  If I did not have insurance then I would be responsible for $371.21!!!!  This is outrageous!!!  Why is the billed amount so high?  Apparently the tests only cost $17.67, so why not just bill me for that amount!!!!?!?!?

Another quick example.  My wife had an MRI at a medical imaging office.  The total cost was roughly $2500.  The doctor who ordered it said that it was “blurry” and she needed to have another MRI done at his office.  Well, after several phone calls and hoops to jump through the insurance company agreed to pay for the other MRI.  We get the explanations of benefits for that MRI, guess how much it cost?  Nope.  It cost $3800!!!   Why the difference?!?!?

I have many, many, many other examples like theres.  I just really want to know “why”.  Why do certain procedures, tests and office visits cost what they do.  If an MRI really costs $3800 then, OK, I will pay $3800.  If a test costs $300 then, OK, bill me for $300.  But if the test only costs $15 dollars do not charge me 2000% of the actual cost!


So I am pleading for anyone to listen to me…. STOP the madness of trying to find a way to pay for the outrageous health insurance premiums and lets find a way to get some truth in medical billing!!  I thoroughly believe if we force the medical industry to support why they are billing what they are, we might see some drastic billing changes….. And we might get to a point where we have affordable health care.  Besides, isn't it supposed to be  the “affordable care act” and not the “affordable insurance premium act”?


Some references:

No comments:

Post a Comment